Nidderdale League – 1st XI

black sheep

Masham Cricket Club 1st XI 

 The 2016 season will go down in the Masham Cricket Club history books, as the 1st XI became champions of division 2 of the Nidderdale League losing only two games during the season. Phil Newton captained the side and was delighted with both the attitude and commitment from the players during a remarkable season.

So we enter the 2017 season with lots of optimism. Ben Fielding our former overseas registered player will be available again as he has now taken up permanent residence in the UK. This allows us to sign up another overseas player and we are delighted that Nathan Kleinig from Balnarring Cricket Club, near Melbourne will be joining us for the season. Nathan is a 19 year old all rounder. Welcome to Masham Nathan, who should be available for the second game of the season.

We are delighted that joining Nathan will be joined by Dan Woolston, who will be moving from Whitburn CC. Our third new signing of the season is Andy Heard. Andy joins us from Birstwith, bringing more experience to a team with a strong batting line up including young player of the year and last years top run scorer Bailey McCourt, Andy Smith, skipper Phil Newton, Chris Smith, Ben Fielding. The bowling line up will be as strong with Fielding, Craig Broadley and Kyle Coetzee providing the pace alongside Roger Smart and spinners Kleinig, Heard and Woolston.

The whole club recognises the importance of our 1st XI doing well!!

Get match reports each week on our facebook page.



First XI Fixtures for the 2017 season


All matches 1.30 pm except where stated


A    22         Burton Leonard

A    29         Darley


H      6         Goldsborough

A     13        Hampsthwaite

H     20       Helperby

A    27         Knaresborough Forest


A      3         West Tanfield

H     10        Spofforth

H    17        Alne

A    24        Ouseburn


H     1      Darley

H    8      Hampsthwaite

A    15     Goldsborough

A     22   Helperby

H    29  Knaresborough Forest


H     5     West Tanfield

A     12    Spofforth

H     19    Ouseburn

A    26     Alne


H    2       Birstwith

H    9       Burton Leonard

A     16     Birstwith