Wensleydale Evening League

black sheep

Wensleydale Evening League

Andrew Sturdy captained the evening league side for the fifth year running in 2017 and with a mixture of both first and second eleven players, the evening league side continuesd to provide an opportunity for all players to get important practice in match situations. Playing evening cricket in the delights of Wensleydale is what the sport is all about. Competitive and fun is what the game is about and there is always a pint or two to be had at the conclusion of the evening!!

In 2017 the side finished 2nd in the first division, which was a fine achievement . Andrew Sturdy won the Evening League player of the year.


Division 1 – 2017 Fixtures

Captain: Andrew Sturdy


H     10   Leyburn – Won

A      17    Crakehall – Won

H     24   Brompton on Swale – Won

A      31   Richmondshire – Won


H      7   Spennithorne – Lost

H     14  West Tanfield – Lost

A      21  East Cowton – Lost        

A      28 Leyburn – Won


H     5  Crakehall – Abandoned

A    12  Brompton on Swale – Won

H     19 Richmondshire – Lost

H    26 Spennithorne – Won


A     2   West Tanfield – Abandoned 

H     9  East Cowton  – Won